May 23, 2016 1:37 am Published by Leave your thoughts

The Nepali flag is the only flag in the world which is triangular in shape.

The word Himalaya means “abode of snow”. It’s a Sanskrit word which has two parts, alaya meaning “dwelling or abode” and him mwhich means “snow”.

The geological age of the Himalaya is approximately 70 million years. The Himalayas were formed because of the collision of the Indo-Australian Plate with the Eurasian Plate.

Himalayan rivers are older than the Himalayan peaks. The five main rivers of the Himalayas are the Jhelum, Chenab, Ravi, Beas, and Sutlej.

In Nepal, there are 8 of the world’s 14 highest mountains above 8000 meters, including Mt. Everest. Other seven are namely Kanchenjunga, Lhotse, Makalu, Cho Oyu, Dhaulagiri, Manaslu, and Annapurna.

Nepal has 8% of the total species of birds found in the world.

The highest lake on earth, Tilicho, is in Nepal. It rests at 4800 meters. It’s higher than Lake Waiau on Mauna Kea in Hawaii which is 13,000 feet.

Nepal has the deepest lake at the highest elevation. She Phoksundo is 145 meters deep and rests at 3600 meters.

The Kali Gandaki is the deepest gorge on earth, dropping 1200 meters.

Nepal also has the lowest valley on earth, the Arun valley.

Lumbini in Nepal is the birth place of Buddha – the apostle of peace.

Nepal is the only country where people worship the living goddess called Kumari, a young virgin girl.

Nepal has the densest concentration of UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Kathmandu valley alone has 7 World Heritage Cultural sites within a radius of 15 kilometers.

In Nepal, there are as many as 80 ethnic groups speaking more than 100 different languages.

Dang Valley situated in the mid-western development region of Nepal is the largest valley of Asia.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Top 5 Places To Visit On Your Kathmandu, Nepal Trip
6 Adventure Sports in Tatopani, Nepal You Can't Miss

Categorised in: ,

This post was written by Salil Jha